Girl in the polka dot dress

The day I will get married, there will be an empty seat
The day my babies will be born, there is one person they won’t meet
With every step that I take, it will be one further away
From the life that we once shared

I just can’t, I really can’t wrap my head around the fact
That however old I grow, you will always remain a little girl
I sit with God and tell Him to please stop the time for a while
Only so that I won’t feel so lost in moving away from sharing life with you

He opens His arms to comfort me, He helps me to accept and see
That if I just hold on, I don’t grow further away, but closer to
That one day, where we will meet again

I dance, my feet only slightly touch the ground
I cry, it feels like there is only darkness around
I smile and burst out in laughter
I yell in anger : “Why didn’t You just heal her?!”

I just can’t, I really can’t wrap my head around the fact
That however old I grow, you will always remain a little girl
A cute, lovely, wonderful little, grown up girl

In a polka dot dress

About lifegiving1

Am absolutely in love with writing.. next to writing a blog (every once in a while) love writing poetry and books. My first published book is available at: http://boekscout.nl/shop/ViewProduct.aspx?bookId=3902
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

